PM Modi, Cricket Fraternity Congratulate India For Winning Women’s U-19 T20 World Cup

Tremendous bowling performance followed by quality knocks from Gongadi Trisha and Soumya Tiwari helped India U-19 women’s cricket team defeat England U-19 team by seven wickets to win the inaugural edition of ICC Women’s U-19 World Cup at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom on Sunday. India first bundled out England for 68 in 17.1 overs and then returned to knock off the paltry target in 14 overs to win the prestigious title.

The cricket fraternity lauded Shafali Verma and Co for their historic win. Rohit Sharma and other stars like Virat Kohli, Sourav Ganguly, Irfan Pathan congratulated the U-19 Women’s team for lifting the inaugural U-19 T20 World Cup.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi too congratulated the Indian team for its “special win”.

“Congratulations to the Indian Team for a special win… They have played excellent cricket and their success will inspire several upcoming cricketers. Best wishes to the team for their future endeavours,” he tweeted.

Check out other reactions…

Later in 2023, India will have two more oppurtunities to win the World Cup which includes T20 Women’s World Cup and Men’s ODI World Cup.