Parliament Live: BJP Leaders Including PM Modi Gather For Parliamentary Meeting

Parliament Winter Session Live: Hello and welcome to the Parliament Winter Session Live blog, please follow this space for all the latest news and updates on the Winter Session of the Parliament. Both the Houses of the Parliament on Monday witnessed a stormy session after a total of 78 MPs from the opposition parties were suspended from Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha for unruly behaviour and disregarding the directions of the Chair. 

As the proceedings started for the day, the lawmakers from opposition parties created a ruckus demanding a discussion on the Parliament security breach incident.

After adjourning the House, the MPs were suspended in the afternoon which included 45 MPs from the opposition’s I.N.D.I.A bloc that has a strength of 95 MPs. Following the suspension, the I.N.D.I.A bloc lost almost half of its strength in Rajya Sabha and one-third in Lok Sabha. Out of 133 MPs in Lok Sabha, 46 oppposition MPs stand suspended. 

Among the floor leaders suspended in Rajya Sabha include Trinamool Congress’ Derek O’Brien and deputy leader Sukhendu Sekhar Ray; Rashtriya Janata Dal floor leader Manoj Kumar Jha; Samajwadi Party’s leader in the house Ram Gopal Yadav; Janata Dal (United) floor leader Ram Nath Thakur; Jharkhand Mukti Morcha leader Mahua Maji; Kerala Congress (M) floor leader Jose K Mani and Communist Party of India leader in house Binoy Viswam.

Lok Sabha Leader of Opposition and Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and deputy leader Gaurav Gogoi have been suspended and so are their chief whip K Suresh and whip Manickam Tagore.

Several other floor leaders who were suspended from the lower house included T R Baalu of the DMK, P R Natarajan of CPI-M, E T Mohammed Basheer of the IUML, N K Premachandran of the RSP; Kalyan Banerjee of the TMC. 

Other senior leaders dismissed from the House include Rajamohan Unnithan, Su. Thirunavukkarasar, K Muraleedharan, Anto Antony and Amar Singh (all from Congress) and Aparupa Poddar, Prasun Banerjee, Sougata Ray, Satabdi Ray, Protima Mondal, Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar, Asit Kumar Mal, and Sunil Kumar Mondal (all from TMC).