Clash between TMC-BJP leaders in Bengal: BJP’s allegation- Party tried to obstruct voting, women supporters were also beaten up

One hour ago

  • copy link

Clashes broke out between supporters of BJP and TMC in Asansol, West Bengal. The clash took place during the voting for the municipal corporation by-election on Sunday. BJP MLA Laxman Ghorui alleged that some goons led by the TMC leader were trying to obstruct the voting by looting votes. He said that we had come to see whether the voting was going on peacefully or not, but TMC supporters beat up MLA Swapna Majumdar and some women supporters of the party.

On the other hand, TMC candidate Papai Raha said that BJP MLA Ashok Kirtaniya brought outsiders to the polling booth of Ward 14 after voting started. After that the debate started. The BJP MLA, however, denied these allegations. In fact, by-elections are being held in Ward 6 of Asansol Municipal Corporation and Ward 14 of Bangaon Municipality in Bengal. Voting for this started from 7 am.

The police were present since morning during the voting.

The police were present since morning during the voting.

Bangaon election of councilor in municipality
By-elections are being held for the election of ward councilors in Bangaon Municipality. Dilip Das of TMC died a few days after he was elected councilor of Ward 14. This time TMC has made Papai Raha its candidate. BJP’s candidate Arup Kumar Pal, CPIM’s trade union leader Dritman and Pravas Pal are the Congress candidates.

Councilor in Asansol Municipal Corporation Election
In Asansol also the new councilor will be announced after today’s election. TMC’s elected councilor Sanjay Chakraborty has resigned from his post. In the by-election, the party has made Bidhan Upadhyay its candidate from the ward. Subhasis Mandal is contesting from CPI(M), Shrideep Chakraborty from BJP, Somnath Chatterjee from Congress.

There is more news…