Bank Holidays In July 2022: Banks To Remain Shut For 14 Days In These States. Check List

Bank Holidays In July 2022: With only a few days left in June, it’s time to know the bank holidays in the coming month as it will help you plan bank visits in advance making it more productive. Going by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) holiday calendar, banks will remain closed for almost 14 days in July 2022. In July, banks will remain closed due to festivities in some regions including Ratha Yatra, Kharchi Puja, Eid-ul-Adha (Bakrid), Eid-ul-Azha, Bhanu Jayanti, Behdienkhlam, Harela, and Ker Puja.

Since the celebrations are restricted to certain states, banks will remain open in other states apart from those who are not observing the festivities. It is advised to note the bank holidays to avoid any inconvenience and complete your task effectively.

ALSO READ: On Gautam Adani’s 60th Birthday, Family Commits Rs 60,000 Crore To Charity

Even as both the private and public sector banks will be closed for 14 days in July, online banking services will be available around the clock. There are eight days when banks will remain closed due to festivities while the remaining six days include Sundays as well as the second and fourth Saturdays. However, it should be noted that bank holidays vary from state to state and are not observed by all banking institutions.

List of bank holidays for the month of July 2022:

July 1: Banks will remain closed in Bhubaneswar and Imphal on the occasion of Kang/Ratha Yatra.

July 3: First Sunday

July 7: Agartala banks will be closed on the occasion of Kharchi Puja.

July 9: While banks in Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram are listed to remain shut on the occasion of Eid-ul-Adha or Bakrid as per RBI, banks in other parts of the country will also be non-operational as the day is the second Saturday

July 10: Second Sunday

July 11: To mark the occasion of Eid-ul-Azha, banks will remain closed in Srinagar and Jammu.

July 13: Banks will remain closed in Gangtok on the occasion of Bhanu Jayanti.

July 14: Banks will remain closed in Shillong on the occasion of Behdienkhlam.

July 16: Banks across Dehradun will remain shut on the occasion of Harela.

July 17: Third Sunday

July 23: Fourth Saturday

July 24: Fourth Sunday

July 26: Banks will remain closed in Agartala on the occasion of Ker Puja

July 31: Fifth Sunday

The RBI categorises its holidays under three lists – the Negotiable Instruments Act, the Negotiable Instruments Act and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday, and Banks’ Closing of Accounts. The holidays that have been mentioned above – except weekends – fall under the RBI’s ‘Negotiable Instruments Act’.