Ranji Trophy Final: Fans on Twitter Shower Praise on Madhya Pradesh After Maiden Title Win

Madhya Pradesh on Sunday created history by winning their first ever Ranji Trophy as they defeated 41-time champions Mumbai by six wickets at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. MP chased down the target of 108 for the loss of four wickets in 29.5 overs.

Also Read: Madhya Pradesh Script History, Beat Mumbai by 6 Wickets to Clinch Maiden Title

As Rajat Patidar hit the winning single, the MP cricketers sprinted onto the pitch as they broke into wild celebrations before their head coach Chandrakant Pandit joined the merrymaking. The celebrated Pandit, who has won Ranji Trophy titles both as a player and coach before, said some words of praise to his wards who encircled him as they listened to his every word intently.

And then he arranged his players in a single file as they bowed in unison paying their respect to the fans and the game. The players then acknowledged the crowd who had gathered at the venue and witnessed MP create history.

Fans on Twitter began showering praise on the winning side.

Mumbai won the toss and opted to bat first. Sarfaraz Khan, the leading run-getter of the season, scored a memorable century while Yashasvi Jaiswal made 78 as the former champions were bowled out for 374.

MP were excellent in their reply with opener Yash Dubey (133) and Rajat Patidar (122) hitting century apiece. Sarans Jain scored 57 as they were bowled out for a mammoth 536 in 177.2 overs and took a 162-run lead.

Match Highlights: Ranji Trophy Final

The match then seemed headed for a draw with Mumbai ending Day 4 on 113/2. However, top bowling display from spinner Kumar Kartikeya (4/98) , Parth Sahani (2/43) and Gaurav Yadav (2/53) helped MP bowl out their opponents for 269.

They were left chasing 108 runs to win but MP were jolted early in the chase with Dhawal Kulkarni striking in the second over to dismiss Yash on 1. However, Himanshu Mantri, Shubham Sharma and Patidar made sure there was no late drama as the team sauntered to the target.

Get all the latest updates on Cricket News, Cricket Photos, Cricket Videos and Cricket Scores here