Ranji Trophy 2022-23: Yash Dubey, Rajat Patidar Guide Madhya Pradesh to Semi-final With Win Over Andhra

Last Updated: February 03, 2023, 17:56 IST

Rajat Patidar (Twitter/@BCCI Domestic)

Defending champions Madhya Pradesh will face Bengal in the semifinals now which will be the repeat of the last year’s clash at the same stage.

Riding on half-centuries from opener Yash Dubey and Rajat Patidar, defending champions Madhya Pradesh completed their remarkable fightback as they beat Andhra by five wickets to enter the Ranji Trophy semifinals here on Friday.

After conceding a big first innings lead of 151, MP bounced back on the third day on Thursday by skittling out Andhra for a mere 93 in 32.3 overs in the visiting side’s second innings.

Set a target of 245 to win the quarterfinal match, MP were 58 for no loss on Thursday and they knocked off the remaining 187 runs in 61 overs on Friday to win the match with a day to spare.

The heroic efforts of Andhra captain Hanuma Vihari who batted one-handed in both their innings after a wrist injury went in vain as his team could not stop MP from reaching 245 for 5 in 77 overs.

Exclusive: Around 1,000 Cricketers Signup for Upcoming Women’s Premier League Auction

MP will now take on Bengal in the semifinals from February 8 in a repeat of last edition’s last-four stage match. MP had won that match by 174 runs at Alur, Karnataka.

Most of the MP top order batters except for captain Aditya Shrivastava (2) made useful contributions on the fourth day on Friday.

Opener and wicketkeeper-batter Himanshu Mantri was the first to go in the second ball of the day without adding any run to his overnight 31.

Dubey (58) then shared 62 runs for the second wicket with Shubham Sharma (40) before the former was out. Patidar (55) then stitched 49 runs with Saransh Jain (28 not out) for the fourth wicket to take MP to 207 for 4. Jain then completed the formalities along with Harsh Gawli (18 not out) to take MP home.

Lalith Mohan and Prithvi Raj took two wickets apiece for Andhra while Nitish Kumar Reddy got one.

Brief Scores: Andhra 379 and 93 Madhya Pradesh: 228 and 245 for 5 in 77 overs (Yash Dubey 58, Rajat Patidar 55; Lalith Mohan 2/91, Prithvi Raj 2/50).

Get the latest Cricket News here

(This story has not been edited by News18 staff and is published from a syndicated news agency feed)