Rajya Sabha Polls: High-Stakes Battle In UP, Karnataka Cong MLAs Moved To Hotel Amid Cross-Voti

The Rajya Sabha biennial elections slated for Tuesday have already seen 41 candidates declared victorious due to the absence of opposition, leaving 15 seats open for polling. Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, and Himachal Pradesh are the states where polling will take place.

Uttar Pradesh: High-Stakes Electoral Battle

In Uttar Pradesh, where 10 seats are at stake, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has nominated eight candidates, setting the stage for a fierce contest. The Samajwadi Party (SP) has put forth three candidates, including Jaya Bachchan. According to a PTI report, Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya expressed confidence in the BJP’s success, stating, “All the BJP candidates will register a win in the Rajya Sabha elections.”

SP’s chief whip in the legislative assembly, Manoj Pandey, assured, “All SP MLAs will be voting for the party’s candidates in the Rajya Sabha election.”

As per PTI, Congress MLA Virendra Chaudhary affirmed, “With the Congress and SP forging an alliance for the upcoming Lok Sabha election, the picture here is also very clear. We will vote for the candidates fielded by the SP.”

ALSO READ | TMC Delegation Meets ECI Over Mass Aadhaar ‘Deactivation’, Gets Assurance Over Right To Vote

Karnataka: Potential for Cross-Voting?

Ahead of the biennial election in Karnataka to fill four vacancies in the Rajya Sabha, the Congress has moved all its MLAs to a hotel to maintain unity. Five candidates, including nominees from Congress, BJP, and JD(S), are in the fray, PTI reported. Amid fears of cross-voting, parties have issued whips to their MLAs. The BJP-JD(S) alliance’s decision to field a second candidate has intensified the electoral scenario.

Here, five candidates — Ajay Maken, Syed Naseer Hussain and G C Chandrasekhar (all Congress), Narayansa Bandage (BJP), and Kupendra Reddy (JD(S)) — are in the fray.    

Himachal Pradesh: BJP Objects To Congress’ Whip

In Himachal Pradesh, the BJP has accused the Congress of pressuring its MLAs by issuing a whip to vote for party candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi. BJP’s Rajya Sabha candidate Harsh Mahajan raised objections, stating such actions undermine the democratic process, as reported by PTI. Despite Congress’ majority, the BJP is contesting with optimism.

Polling for one Rajya Sabha seat in Himachal Pradesh will take place on Tuesday. The Congress has a clear majority with 40 out of 68 MLAs and the support of three independent MLAs. Despite the fact that the BJP, with 25 MLAs, is far behind in the number game, it has forced a contest by fielding Mahajan against Singhvi.