paul: By-election 2022: BJP nominates MLA Agnimitra Paul against Shatrughan Sinha of TMC for Asansol Lok Sabha seat | Kolkata News – Times of India

KOLKATA : BJP is in two minds over the nomination of BJP MLA Agnimitra Paul from Asansol seat for the Lok Sabha by-election.
While the fashion designer turned politician is confident of her victory, BJP leaders are still to come clear on the nomination of Paul.
Paul however described Trinamool‘s Shatrughan Sinha as an outsider and having no links with Bengal or Asansol and so she felt confident of winning the seat.
It might be recalled that Babul Supriyo had won the parliamentary seat of Asansol in 2014 and 2019 as a BJP candidate and when he was stripped of his ministerial portfolio in July 2021, he decided to join Trinamool.
Finally, he joined Trinamool in September and resigned from the LS in October 2021, for which holding the bypolls had been imminent. Babul is now contesting from the Ballygunge assembly seat as a Trinamool candidate and against him, BJP has nominated Keya Ghosh.
However, senior BJP leaders felt that Paul was a wrong choice as if she wins and turns into an MP then she will have to resign from the post of the MLA. They pointed out in the recent bypolls BJP lost after BJP MPs Nishit Pramanick and Jagannath Sarkar resigned from the post of MLAs and in all other bypolls too Trinamool had won including the Bhawanipore seat.
Initially the name of Jitendra tewari had surfaced as a probable BJP candidate but the party had felt Paul to be a popular face and had nominated her.