Parliament LIVE Updates: Rahul Gandhi, Akhilesh Yadav Among Key Oppn Members To Take Oath At Lok Sabha Today – News18

The first day of the 18th Lok Sabha session witnessed the oath taking of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and members of his Council of Ministers including Home Minister Amit Shah. Among the key names that will take oath at the Parliament today are Rahul Gandhi, Akhilesh Yadav, Mahua Moitra, Supriya Sule, Kanimozhi and Sudip Bandyopadhyay.

BJP’s Bhartruhari Mahtab was sworn in as the pro-tem Speaker of the House. During the Prime Minister’s oath-taking, opposition members rose to their feet, holding copies of the Constitution. When home minister Amit Shah was taking his oath, they again held up the copies of the Constitution but remained seated.

This term, the NDA holds a majority with 293 seats, while the BJP has 240 seats, which is just shy of the 272 majority mark on its own. The Opposition INDIA bloc on the other hand has 234 seats.