Missing: MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma From IPL Captains’ Photo, Image Goes Viral

The stage is set for the seventeenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The 2024 chapter of the cash-rich league is all set to get underway on March 22 with Chennai Super Kings (CSK) set to take on Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) in the season opener. On the eve of the IPL 2024 opener, CSK announced that it would not be MS Dhoni who will be leading the franchise. The Men in Yellow will instead be led by Ruturaj Gaikwad in the tournament.

As 9 captains and 1 vice-captain posed with the IPL trophy before the start of the tournament, this marked the first-ever IPL captains’ picture without any of Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. In no time, the picture went viral on social media with some fans surprised to see Dhoni not being there. Punjab Kings (PBKS), who will be led by Shikhar Dhawan in IPL 2024, was represented by vice-captain Jitesh Sharma in the picture. 

CSK vs RCB To Kick Off IPL 2024

Meanwhile, the stage is set for IPL 2024 match number 1. Dhoni might no longer be the captain but the buzz will be around him as the retired international cricketer plays his first competitive match since IPL 2023 final in Ahmedabad last year. Similarly, Faf du Plessis might well be the RCB captain but Virat Kohli will still hog the limelight more so as he will be making an appearance on the cricket field after a bit of a break, having taken a leave citing personal reasons for India’s home Test series against England.

While an official release from CSK confirmed that Dhoni made way for Ruturaj Gaikwad as the leader, Mumbai Indians (MI) had already announced Hardik Pandya as their captain, marking an end to the captaincy chapters of two of the most successful leaders of IPL 2024 with both of them having led CSK and MI respectively to five titles each.