Ind vs Pak: Ravi Shastri Makes Blunder During Toss Ceremony, Video Goes Viral

rn" tabindex="1" role="textbox" contenteditable="true" spellcheck="false" aria-label="Message Body" aria-multiline="true">

India vs Pakistan Asia Cup Super-4: Former India head coach Ravi Shastri’s big blunder during the toss of Ind vs Pak Asia Cup 2022 match on Sunday was spotted by social media users in no time. Cricketer-turned-commentator Shastri, making his comeback to commentary, was given the toss duty for the high-octane Ind-Pak fixture in Dubai. However, he wrongly called Pakistan captain Babar Azam’s toss call, the video of which went viral on social media.

After Rohit Sharma flipped the toss coin, Shastri said that Babar had called tails but it was clearly heard during the live broadcast that the Pak star batter had called for heads. Shastri’s blunder was corrected by the match referee as he quickly clarified that it was Babar who had won the toss.


Pakistan skipper Babar Azam called the toss correctly to choose to bowl first against a strong Indian squad. The Pakistani skipper admitted that his side had a lot of takeaways from their loss to India and it was important for the Men in Green to put pressure on the opposition.

“We will bowl first. The dew could be a factor, that’s the reason we’re bowling first. We had a lot of positives from the last match against India. The message is to play positively – one change for us with Hasnain coming in,” Babar said after winning the toss.

Rohit Sharma, who had won the toss in India’s last game against Pakistan, admitted that it was a headache to select the playing XI.

“We would have bowled first, but now we need to play freely and assess a good score on this pitch. Momentum counts in this format, you’ve to be on the money from the start, not worry about external pressures. Injury is something we can’t control, Jadeja has been ruled out and he’s back home. It was a headache to select the playing XI – Hardik comes back. Deepak Hooda gets a game and so does Ravi Bishnoi,” Sharma said at the toss.

India vs Pakistan Squads:

India (Playing XI): KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(w), Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh

Pakistan (Playing XI): Mohammad Rizwan(w), Babar Azam(c), Fakhar Zaman, Khushdil Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Naseem Shah