3 Indians Included in ICC’s All-Female Panel to Take Charge at Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

Last Updated: January 27, 2023, 4:26 PM IST

Vrinda Rathi (L) and Janani Narayanan (R) included in ICC’s panel for women’s T20 World Cup 2023

India’s GS Lakshmi, Vrinda Rathi, and Janani Narayanan have been included in ICC’s 13 women panel for the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

In a significant first for world cricket, the ICC on Friday named an all-female panel of match officials, including the Indian trio of GS Lakshmi, Vrinda Rathi, and Janani Narayanan, for the upcoming Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa.

Three match referees and 10 umpires make up the 13-woman team in what is a landmark moment and is in part of the ICC’s strategic ambition of advancing the involvement and visibility of women in cricket.

The panel includes seven first-timers and the announcement comes after a constant rise in the number of women officiating in global tournaments.

India’s Rathi and Janani had earlier this month become the first female umpires to officiate in the prestigious Ranji Trophy, and they will be umpiring at a T20 World Cup for the first time.

ALSO READ| U-19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: Shafali Verma’s Team India into the Final After Defeating New Zealand

ICC General Manager – Cricket, Wasim Khan, said: “Women’s cricket has been growing rapidly in recent years and as part of that we have been building the pathways to ensure more women have the opportunity to officiate at the highest level.

“This announcement is a reflection of our intent in this space and just the start of our journey where men and women enjoy the same opportunities across our sport. We are committed to continuing to support our female match officials and provide opportunities to showcase their talents on the global stage.”

Eight women officials each were involved in the Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 and the Women’s Cricket World Cup last year, while nine women have been involved in the ongoing ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa.

Claire Polosak is the most experienced of the umpires, selected as she continues her record of officiating in every Women’s World Cup, T20, and ODI, since 2016.

ALSO READ| EXCLUSIVE: Mithali Raj Set to Join Gujarat Giants As Mentor for Women’s Premier League

The 34-year-old Australian will be officiating in her fourth T20 World Cup, while Sue Redfern of England, Jacqueline Williams of the West Indies, and Kim Cotton of New Zealand will be involved in their third Women’s T20 World Cups.

Lauren Agenbag will get the chance to umpire at a World Cup on home soil with the South African selected for her second T20 World Cup with match referee Shandre Fritz to oversee games in her home country at her debut T20 World Cup.

Meanwhile, Michell Pereira of Sri Lanka will take charge of her first-ever T20I at the 2023 World Cup which gets underway on February 10 as the hosts South Africa take on Sri Lanka in Cape Town.

England’s Anna Harris is the youngest of the umpires at just 24 years old as she makes her debut at a major ICC event.

ALSO READ| IND vs NZ, 1st T20I: India Brace for T20 Appetiser Against NZ Ahead of Marquee Australia Test Series

Match Officials at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

Match Referees: GS Lakshmi (India), Shandre Fritz (South Africa), Michell Pereira (Sri Lanka)

Umpires: Sue Redfern (England), Eloise Sheridan (Australia), Claire Polosak (Australia), Jacqueline Williams (West Indies), Kim Cotton (New Zealand), Lauren Agenbag (South Africa), Anna Harris (England), Vrinda Rathi (India), N Janani (India), Nimali Perera (Sri Lanka).

Get the latest Cricket News, Schedule and Cricket Live Scores here

(This story has not been edited by News18 staff and is published from a syndicated news agency feed)